Fraternity & Sorority Life

Following the 2018 approval of City zoning regulations that impact fraternity and sorority facilities by requiring organizations maintain affiliation with the university for special permitting, several chapters within U-M’s Interfraternity Council (IFC) have expressed desire/s to disaffiliate from the university.

Sororities and fraternities within the other three councils (Multicultural Greek Council, National Pan-Hellenic Council, and Panhellenic Association) are all still affiliated.

As of October 18, 2019, the Interfraternity Council  has reported the status of its chapters as follows:

Affiliated IFC Fraternities

  • Alpha Delta Phi
  • Alpha Tau Omega  
  • Beta Theta Pi 
  • Chi Phi
  • Delta Sigma Phi
  • Delta Tau Delta  
  • Delta Upsilon       
  • Lambda Chi Alpha           
  • Phi Gamma Delta (FIJI)            
  • Phi Kappa Psi   
  • Phi Kappa Tau - returning fall 2019
  • Pi Kappa Alpha 
  • Psi Upsilon    
  • Sigma Nu            
  • Sigma Chi            
  • Theta Delta Chi 
  • Theta Xi   
  • Triangle   

For additional information on each affiliated chapter click here.       


  • Alpha Epsilon Pi    
  • Delta Chi - Cease of Operations placed on chapter by IHQ on 10/10/190 - Contact the IHQ for details
  • Pi Kappa Phi
  • Phi Sigma Kappa
  • Theta Chi             


Disaffiliated by Interfraternity Council for misconduct

  • Delta Kappa Epsilon (Fall 2015)
  • Alpha Sigma Phi (Fall 2018)


Inter/national contact Information